10 Questions: INTP vs INTJ

We thought this would be an interesting experiment showcasing the similarities and differences between INTPs and INTJs in their approach to certain ideologies and interests. Below is a 10 item questionnaire that will offer perspective on how we think personally as well as our general MBTI typing.

What motivates you?

INTP: Education. Pursuit of knowledge, and obtaining as much information as possible to store into the compartments of my squishy membrane sack.

INTJ: As vain and as shallow as it may sound, what really drives me is the fear of failure and complacency. I do not posses a stagnant nature and I must continually improve myself and my ideas in an effort to grow.

Who is your role model?

INTP: This question leads to a vast number of nominees, but I would say my inspiration(rather) would be the minds of Einstein, Nikola Tesla, Sir Isaac Newton and of course from our generation, Stephen Hawking.

INTJ: I don’t necessarily prescribe to the idea of worshiping any individual regardless of their achievements, but if I had to choose it would be a Mexican stand-off between Isaac Newton, Nikola Tesla, and Marcus Aurelius.

Why do you write?

INTP: If I am going to be completely honest, writing for me provides proof of my mental capacity and advance thought process. It’s not always easy for someone like me to control those thoughts long enough to apply them into writing. In the case that I do, however, they tend to be in a complicated, exorbitant language. What is challenging is answering questions specifically, personally or with a deadline/outline. I am extremely scatter-brained and prefer to let my thoughts flow organically, so for the most part they remain in the confines of my skull. But another thing that drives me is to be challenged!

INTJ: Writing is an easy way for me to gather my thoughts and follow the logic of my arguments in a way that I can see the potential for errors or flaws. I also think that writing is one of the truest forms of introspection and reflection — when you are faced with yourself it becomes much more difficult to lie.

Do you like being alone?

INTP: It’s essential.

INTJ: Yes.

What do you like to read and or learn about?

INTP: I very rarely enjoy reading fiction, but when I do indulge, I particularly enjoy Sci-Fi and historical fiction. I consistently find myself reading about astronomy, astrophysics, orbital mechanics and floating within the never ending realm of philosophy.

INTJ: In terms of reading literature, I enjoy Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Biographies, and historical works. Learning, however, I cast a wide net and tend to devour any and everything related to my interests at the time. A few interests of mine include computers (software and hardware) and Finance (personal and corporate).

Biggest strength and weakness?

INTP: My most prominent strength would be my ability to think outside the box and provide unexpected, yet insightful perspective. My weakness is simple, my lack in drive to share these thoughts.

INTJ: My biggest weakness is my ego. There is a fine line between confidence and arrogance and I tend to tip-toe that line quite often. On the other hand, my greatest strength is being able to turn insights into actions.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

INTP: Being controlled mentally or physically.

INTJ: Lack of manners.

What is your most anticipated advancement?

INTP: Robotics; constantly improving and developing, and dependent upon our maintenance, we are provided an outlet for efficiently reaching those mysterious crevices we weren’t able to before (Curiosity the land-rover!). Or they could take our jobs making us lazier then ever, then destroy us all. Meh.

INTJ: The mission to Mars. The moment that we can reliably traverse space and become a true space-faring civilization will be one of the most defining moments in human existence as well as ensure human existence… A much shorter advancement that I aim looking forward to is the introduction of Tesla’s Model 3 as it offers cutting edge technology and a conversion to pure electric motoring that the average consumer can afford.

What do you think about the most?

INTP: I find myself cogitating most about personal growth and broadening of wisdom. Introspection plays a huge part of my day-to-day thought process. Obtaining information and observing the world around me, analyzing it, and making decisions based on what is in accordance to my personal value system. Developing this area of myself constantly not only opens the avenue to obtain other forms of knowledge more efficiently  it also helps me shed insight on what may develop others (in their lives) as well. So, in short, I think most about the improvement of my mind.

INTJ: The future. The ideal and efficient use of my time and actions on a daily basis should culminate in success in the distant future. So, I spend a lot of time meticulously cultivating myself now – regardless of how mundane it may make my daily routine – it has greatest return on investment.

Favorite Quote?

INTP: “It is paradoxical, yet true, to say, that the more we know, the more ignorant we become in the absolute sense, for it is only through enlightenment that we become conscious of our limitations. Precisely one of the most gratifying results of intellectual evolution is the continuous opening up of new and greater prospects.” -Nikola Tesla

INTJ: “I do not fear death. I had been dead for billions and billions of years before I was born, and had not suffered the slightest inconvenience from it.” – Mark Twain

 

Discuss